American Recorder Society Honor Roll

Honorary President
Erich Katz (1900-1973)

Honorary Vice President
Winifred Jaeger

Distinguished Achievement Award

The ARS Distinguished Achievement Award was set up by the Board of Directors in October 1986 to recognize and honor individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to development of the recorder movement in North America.  Recipients are:


 Friedrich von Huene 1987

Edgar Hunt 1997

Joel Newman 2007

 Bernard Krainis 1989

Eugene Reichenthal 1999

Ken Wollitz 2009

 Shelley Gruskin 1991

Frans Brüggen, 2001

David Lasocki 2011

 Nobuo Toyama 1994

Valerie Horst 2002

Bernard Thomas 2013 

 LaNoue Davenport 1995

Pete Rose 2005

Piffaro 2015

 Martha Bixler 1996

Marion Verbruggen 2006

Flanders Recorder Quartet 2018


 Thomas Prescott 2019
Members are invited to send a nomination, along with the reasons for nominating that individual, at any time for consideration by the Board.

Presidential Special Honor Award

The ARS Presidential Special Honor Award is intended to honor a person who has had a significant positive impact on the ARS, the Board, or recorder music in North America. 

David Goldstein 2003
Carolyn Peskin 2005
Marie-Louise Smith 2005
Connie Primus 2006
Anthony Rowland-Jones 2007
Shirley Robbins 2007
Corlu Collier & Oregon Coast Recorder Society 2009
Louise Austin 2011
Peter Seibert 2012
Gail Nickless 2014
Eric Haas 2019

Past Presidents
Irmgard Lehrer 1939Peter Ballinger 1967Gene Murrow 1995-2000
Harold Newman 1940-1950Kenneth Wollitz 1968-1975John Nelson 2001-2002
Erich Katz Music Dir. 1951-1959 (Honorary)Jan Custer Bryan (Acting) 1976Alan Karass 2002-2006
LaNoue Davenport 1960-1961Martha Bixler 1977-1980Letitia Berlin 2006-2008
Bernard Krainis 1962-1963Shelley Gruskin 1981-1988Lisette Kielson 2008-2012
A. Cook Glassgold 1964-1965Martha Bixler 1989-1990Laura Kuhlman 2012-2015
Howard Mayer Brown 1966Constance M. Primus 1991-1994David Podeschi (2015-present)
Honorary Life Memberships

It has been the custom of the ARS Board to award Honorary Life Memberships to its past presidents, recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award, and a very few others who have given special service to the ARS.

In addition to the above Honor Roll members, recipients include:

Suzanne Bloch
Winifred Jaeger, Honorary Vice-President
Joel Newman
Rhoda Weber