Second Level Beginner Recorder Classes


New!  From January through May, 2021 the American Recorder Society is offering approximately 10 "Second Level" classes via Zoom on a variety of topics. Classes are designed for students who are relatively new to recorder, but are familiar with most fingerings on their instrument and can read music.

There is no cost to register for these classes, but they are available to ARS members, only. If you have taken one of our "FREE Online Classes for Beginners," this may be your next step!  Teachers are paid thanks to donations to the Recorder Artist Relief Fund. 

These classes are limited in size to allow for interaction between the teacher and students. ARS members are asked to please sign up for no more than two of these classes, in order to allow a larger number of people to take advantage of these opportunities. Classes may be recorded and made available at a future date.

Some classes offer instruction on soprano (or tenor) recorders, and others on alto recorder.  Check the class description to see which recorder you will need and whether you will need to purchase a method book or whether materials will be provided by the teacher.  If the teacher is supplying instructional materials you'll receive a download link for these materials a few days before class. Each class is about 45 minutes in length, including a period for questions and answers.

Teachers will typically offer suggestions for materials you can use for further study on your own, or you may choose to arrange for individual lessons with your teacher, or any of our many teaching professionals who offer online instruction.

MORE CLASSES COMING SOON - PLEASE CHECK BACK!

Second Level Beginners' Class with Jennifer Carpenter: Approaching the Baroque (alto recorder)
CLICK HERE TO REGISTER
Dates:
Sunday, Jan 24, 2021 5 PM MST (7 PM EST, 6 PM CST, 4 PM PST)
Wednesday, Jan 27, 2021, 5 PM MST (7 PM EST, 6 PM CST, 4 PM PST)
Sunday, Jan 31, 2021, 5 PM MST (7 PM EST, 6 PM CST, 4 PM PST)
Wednesday, Feb 3, 2021, 5 PM MST (7 PM EST, 6 PM CST, 4 PM PST)



Second Level Beginners' Class with Daphna Mor: Approaching Folk Music on Recorder (soprano/tenor recorder)
CLICK HERE FOR CLASS DESCRIPTION (CLASS IS FILLED)
Dates:
Monday, February 1, 2 pm EST (1 pm CST, 12 noon MST, 11 am PST)
Thursday, February 4, 2 pm EST (1 pm CST, 12 noon MST, 11 am PST)
Monday, February 8, 2 pm EST (1 pm CST, 12 noon MST, 11 am PST)
Thursday, February 11, 2 pm EST (1 pm CST, 12 noon MST, 11 am PST)



Second Level Beginners' Class with Anne Timberlake: Build Your Tone (alto recorder)
CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!
Tuesday, Feb 2, 2021 3 pm CST (4 pm EST, 2 pm MST, 1 pm PST)
Tuesday, Feb 9, 2021 3 pm CST (4 pm EST, 2 pm MST, 1 pm PST)
Tuesday, Feb 16, 2021 3 pm CST (4 pm EST, 2 pm MST, 1 pm PST)
Tuesday, Feb 23, 2021 3 pm CST (4 pm EST, 2 pm MST, 1 pm PST)



Second Level Beginners' Class with Jody Miller: Helping Soprano Players Transition to Alto
CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Tuesday, Feb 9, 2021, 7 p,m. EST (6 p.m. CST, 5 p.m. MST, 4 p.m. PST)
Thursday, Feb 11, 2021, 7 p,m. EST (6 p.m. CST, 5 p.m. MST, 4 p.m. PST)
Tuesday, Feb 16, 2021, 7 p,m. EST (6 p.m. CST, 5 p.m. MST, 4 p.m. PST)
Thursday, Feb 18, 2021, 7 p,m. EST (6 p.m. CST, 5 p.m. MST, 4 p.m. PST)



Second Level Beginners' Class with Lisette Kielson (soprano/tenor recorder)
CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!
Saturday, February 27, 12 p.m. CST (1 p.m. EST, 11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)
Saturday, March 6, 12 p.m. CST (1 p.m. EST, 11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)
Saturday, March 13, 12 p.m. CST (1 p.m. EST, 11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)
Saturday, March 20, 12 p.m. CST (1 p.m. EST, 11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)



Second Level Beginners' Class with Sarah Cantor (soprano/tenor recorder)
CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!
Monday, March 15, 6:30 p.m. EST (5:30 p.m. CST, 4:30 p.m. MST, 3:30 p.m. PST)
Thursday, March 18, 6:30 p.m. EST (5:30 p.m. CST, 4:30 p.m. MST, 3:30 p.m. PST)
Monday, March 22, 6:30 p.m. EST (5:30 p.m. CST, 4:30 p.m. MST, 3:30 p.m. PST)
Thursday, March 25, 6:30 p.m. EST (5:30 p.m. CST, 4:30 p.m. MST, 3:30 p.m. PST)



Coming, but not yet scheduled:
Second Level Beginners' Class with Miyo Aoki: Continuing Technique
Second Level Beginners' Class with Tish Berlin: Learning Bass Recorder
Second Level Beginners' Class with Larry Lipnik: Approaching Renaissance Music on Recorder